Teen and young adult books written by black authors.

Showing 1–24 of 38 results

0 out of 5

Brown Girl Dreaming

Feature: Brown Girl Dreaming Jacqueline Woodson’s National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner, now available in paperback with 7 all-new poems. A President Obama “O” Book Club pickRaised in SouthRead More
0 out of 5

Each Kindness (Jane Addams Award Book (Awards))

Feature: Each Kindness WINNER OF A CORETTA SCOTT KING HONOR AND THE JANE ADDAMS PEACE AWARD! Each kindness makes the world a little better This unforgettable book is written andRead More
0 out of 5

Locomotion

Feature: Locomotion Finalist for the National Book Award When Lonnie was seven years old, his parents died in a fire. Now he’s eleven, and he still misses them terribly. AndRead More
0 out of 5

Feathers

Feature: Feathers A Newbery Honor Book A beautiful and moving novel from a three-time Newbery Honor-winning author “Hope is the thing with feathers” starts the poem Frannie is reading inRead More
0 out of 5

The Other Side

Feature: Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers Clover’s mom says it isn’t safe to cross the fence that segregates their African-American side of town from the white side where AnnaRead More
0 out of 5

If You Come Softly

Feature: If You Come Softly A heartbreaking contemporary romance from a three-time Newbery Honor winning author Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his ownRead More
0 out of 5

Miracle’s Boys

Feature: Miracle s Boys From a three-time Newbery Honor author, a novel that was awarded the 2001 Coretta Scott King award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize For LafayetteRead More
0 out of 5

Hush

Feature: Hush A powerfully moving novel from a three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Evie Thomas is not who she used to be. Once she had a best friend, a happy homeRead More
0 out of 5

This Is the Rope: A Story from the Great Migration

Jacqueline Woodson—New York Times Bestselling, National Book Award and Newbery Honor winning author–writes a rich story of a family adapting to change as they hold on to the past and embrace the future.Read More
0 out of 5

Like Sisters on the Homefront

Feature: Great product! When Gayle gets into trouble with her boyfriend, her mother sends the street-smart 14-year-old?and her baby, Jose?down to Georgia, to live with Uncle Luther and his family.Read More
0 out of 5

Jumped

Award-winning author Rita Williams-Garcia intertwines the lives of three very different teens in this fast-paced, gritty narrative about choices and the impact that even the most seemingly insignificant ones canRead More
0 out of 5

No Laughter Here

Feature: Used Book in Good Condition In this groundbreaking novel, Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia uses her vividly realistic voice to highlight an often taboo practice that affectsRead More
0 out of 5

Rayla 2212

Feature: Rayla 2212 RAYLA 2212 follows Rayla Illmatic, a third generation citizen of Planet Hope, a former Earth colony that has claimed its independence. But the utopian world has turnedRead More
0 out of 5

Everything, Everything

Feature: EMBER The instant #1 New York Times bestseller–now a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly. Risk everything . . . for love. What if youRead More
0 out of 5

The Sun Is Also a Star (Yoon, Nicola)

Feature: The Sun Is Also a Star The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything (in theaters now!), will have you fallingRead More
0 out of 5

American Street

Feature: American Street *Five Starred Reviews* American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunningRead More
0 out of 5

Piecing Me Together

Feature: Bloomsbury U S A Children s Books Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she’s ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to takeRead More
0 out of 5

This Side of Home

Feature: BLOOMSBURY A captivating and poignant coming-of-age urban YA debut about sisters, friends, and what it means to embrace change. Maya Younger and her identical twin sister, Nikki, have alwaysRead More
0 out of 5

When time Fades away

The eyes may see clearly but those visions may still deceive you!Life has the habit of twisting and turning right before our eyes. KNOWLEDGE is the water that quinches yourRead More
0 out of 5

Flygirl

Feature: Flygirl For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys. All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feelsRead More
0 out of 5

Pasadena

Feature: Pasadena “Beautiful clothes, bad habits, ugly secrets: Sherri L. Smith probes the vulnerable underbellies of a lot of toothy sharks in this page-turning California noir.”—E. Lockhart, New York Times bestsellingRead More
0 out of 5

Sparrow

Family sticks with family. That’s the golden rule G’ma taught Kendall. But once G’ma’s gone, Kendall has no family left—except for an aunt G’ma asked for at the end, whoRead More
0 out of 5

Hot, Sour, Salty, Sweet

Ana Shen has what her social studies teacher calls a “marvelously biracial, multicultural family” but what Ana simply calls a Chinese American father and an African American mother. And onRead More
0 out of 5

Lucy the Giant

Lucy Otswego is a big girl who towers over just about everyone and everything in her small Alaskan town, except for her father’s horrible reputation as a mean drunk. AtRead More
Loading...